Confusion reported on whether CHLs can carry during 30-day grace period after expiration date

Nearly half of the more than 100,000 concealed handgun licensees (CHLs) in Ohio are up for renewal in 2008, and questions on the renewal process or reports about renewal applicants' experiences in various counties continue to come in to Buckeye Firearms Association.

One of the more frequently asked questions deals with whether or not a person can carry on their license during the 30-day grace period that is provided for a person to apply for a renewal even after the expiration date on the license.

Some reports have come in of sheriffs saying that a person can carry, others have had their sheriff say that they may not.

The Attorney General's office has the following information in the "Concealed Carry Frequently Asked Questions" section of the website:

May I carry my handgun during the 30-day “grace period” after expiration?

Yes. You have a grace period of thirty days after the license
expires during which your license remains valid.

The operative section from the Ohio Revised Code is 2923.126(A):

2923.126 Duties of licensed individual.

(A) A license to carry a concealed handgun that is issued under
section 2923.125 of the Revised Code on or after the effective date of this amendment shall expire five years after the date of issuance, and a license that is so issued prior to the effective date of this amendment shall expire four years after the date of issuance. A licensee who has been issued a license under that section shall be granted a grace period of thirty days after the licensee's license expires during which the licensee's license remains valid...." (emphasis added)

Even with this in mind, persons whose licenses expire this year whould keep in mind that reports from many counties are that renewal applications taking longer than a persons' original license application. It is highly recommended that licensees apply as soon as their renewal window begins 90 days prior to the expiration date printed on the license.

Your renewed license will cost $55, and be good for five years.

Related Story:
Concealed Handgun License renewal deadline looms for many

Help us fight for your rights!

Become a member of Buckeye Firearms Association and support our grassroots efforts to defend and advance YOUR RIGHTS!

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

Get weekly news and instant alerts on the latest laws and politics that affect your gun rights. Enjoy cutting-edge commentary. Be among the first to hear about gun raffles, firearms training, and special events. Read more.

We respect your privacy and your email address will be kept confidential.

Mission

Buckeye Firearms Association is a grassroots organization dedicated to defending and advancing the right of citizens to own and use firearms for all legal activities, including self-defense, hunting, competition, and recreation. Read more.

JOIN