Linda Walker accepts NRA's 2009 Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award in D.C.

Buckeye Firearms Association Central Ohio Chair Linda Walker made the trip to Washington D.C. recently to receive the National Rifle Association's 2009 Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award at the NRA's fall Board of Directors meeting.

Walker shown here with other past recipients, from left: Marion Hammer 1995, Linda Walker 2009, Edie Reynolds 2007, Patty Clark 2005.

According to the NRA, "the Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award recognizes exceptional accomplishments of modern heroines through their legislative activism as well as advocacy, volunteerism, and education of others to the goals of the Second Amendment and the NRA on a national level. Its name comes from a heroine of the American Revolution."

An NRA press release announced that "Linda Walker of Alexandria, Ohio received the Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award for her outstanding history of achievements."

Walker was accompanied to D.C. by her friend and Buckeye Firearms Minuteman Mary Carducci. The pair were given V.I.P. treatment during their weekend stay. Upon arriving on Thursday, they enjoyed a private tour of the Capital Building with the intern of their Congressman, Pat Tiberi, and lunch with Congresswoman Jean Schmidt, a long-time friend of Buckeye Firearms Association.

On Friday the NRA treated them to a tour of the D.C. monuments, as well as a visit to the NRA headquarters and National Firearms Museum in Fairfax, VA. That evening they attended the President's Reception with the current board of directors, executive vice president Wayne LaPierre, NRA-ILA executive director Chris Cox, lead council Chris Conte, and other award recipients. Later that evening Walker appeared as an in-studio guest on's Cam & Company.

On Saturday, Walker and Carducci shared a breakfast table with Texas Gov. Rick Perry, and John and Carol Cushman. John sits on the NRA Board of Directors, and Carol serves on the committee for women's programs that chooses award recipients.

Later that morning, Walker offcially accepted the award, in the form of a stunning crystal vase, from NRA President Ron Schmeits.

"It was such an honor to stand before the executives and the board of the National Rifle Association," Linda remarked.

The Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award has been awarded since 1995. Past recipients have included such noteables as Marion P. Hammer, the NRA's first woman president, and Suzanna Gratia Hupp, who became a gun rights advocate and Texas legislator after her parents were murdered by a spree killer inside a "no guns" zone.

Linda is the second Buckeye Firearms Association leader to be recognized at a national level for their individual work in support of the Second Amendment. Last year, the National Rifle Association's Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) awarded Buckeye Firearms Association Legislative Chair Ken Hanson, Esq. with its Defender of Justice Award.

The leaders and supporters of Buckeye Firearms Association congratulate Linda on this most-deserved recognition.

Help us fight for your rights!

Become a member of Buckeye Firearms Association and support our grassroots efforts to defend and advance YOUR RIGHTS!

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

Get weekly news and instant alerts on the latest laws and politics that affect your gun rights. Enjoy cutting-edge commentary. Be among the first to hear about gun raffles, firearms training, and special events. Read more.

We respect your privacy and your email address will be kept confidential.


Buckeye Firearms Association is a grassroots organization dedicated to defending and advancing the right of citizens to own and use firearms for all legal activities, including self-defense, hunting, competition, and recreation. Read more.