2002 KEY RACE Election Results

These KEY RACES were identified as close races. With the exception of three*, they were considered must-win races, important to protect the pro-CCW majority in the General Assembly.

We won all but one must-win race!

Ohio Supreme Court

Justice Evelyn Lundberg-Stratton (R) - WIN!

Lt. Gov. Maureen O'Connor (R) - WIN!

Ohio Senate:

John Carey (R-17) - WIN!

Kevin Coughlin (R-27) - WIN!

Ohio House:

Steve Pressman (R-7)* - LOSS

Cassandra Wyssbrod (R-9)* - LOSS

Tom Patton (R-18) - WIN!

Linda Reidelbach (R-21) - WIN!

Mary Taylor (R-43) - WIN!

John Hagan (R-50) - WIN!

Daniel Williamson (R-56)* - LOSS

Jeff Manning (R-57) - WIN!

Terri Hauenstein (R-68) - LOSS

Also, in a House race hard targeted by anti-CCW foes, and latecomer to the KEY RACE list:

Jim Trakas (R-17) - WIN!

*These races were not identified as so-called must-win races for the CCW issue, but were candidates we deemed worthy of support, as these candidates sought to overcome heavy odds to unseat anti-CCW incumbents.

Grassroots Action Guide Main Page

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

Get weekly news and instant alerts on the latest laws and politics that affect your gun rights. Enjoy cutting-edge commentary. Be among the first to hear about gun raffles, firearms training, and special events. Read more.

We respect your privacy and your email address will be kept confidential.


Buckeye Firearms Association is a grassroots organization dedicated to defending and advancing the right of citizens to own and use firearms for all legal activities, including self-defense, hunting, competition, and recreation. Read more.