Ohio Attorney General announces concealed carry reciprocity agreement with North Dakota

Ohio Attorney General Richard Cordray has announced a new concealed carry reciprocity agreement with North Dakota.

Here is the text of the official announcement:

I am pleased to inform you that my office has negotiated another agreement to extend the concealed carry privileges of licensed Ohioans who are traveling in other states.

Effective immediately, North Dakota is the 20th state to enter into concealed carry reciprocity with Ohio. Important agreements such as this help law-abiding, licensed citizens exercise their constitutionally protected rights in a number of different states across the country.

Earlier this month, my office also negotiated a reciprocity agreement with the state of Nebraska. I support concealed carry, and this office will continue to search for new concealed carry reciprocity partners.

North Dakota has a two-tiered concealed weapons license system, in which applicants can either apply for a Class I or Class II license. Ohio will only recognize North Dakota's Class I license because its training and testing requirements more closely align with the license requirements of Ohio. These measures are necessary to ensure the safety of all Ohioans, and are required by law.

With this latest agreement, Ohio's concealed handgun licensees may now carry concealed firearms throughout the state of North Dakota; similarly, lawful North Dakota's licensees who hold a Class I license may now carry concealed firearms in Ohio.

In an attempt to simplify the agreement and make it more convenient to print and carry, the document is a single page.

Read the agreement here:

The Attorney General's Office maintains concealed carry statistics online on the number of licenses issued each year in Ohio, as well as a listing of other states that have reciprocity agreements with Ohio, copies of license applications and a handbook on Ohio's concealed carry law.

Learn more about concealed carry in Ohio:


Richard Cordray
Ohio Attorney General

For Ohio citizens with a Concealed Handgun License, this means they can now exercise their Constitutionally-protected rights in a total of 29 states including Ohio.

States where Ohio's Concealed Handgun License is valid include:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

20 of these states have "reciprocity" agreements with Ohio, meaning Ohio recognizes their license and they recognize Ohio's license. With other states, Ohio does not recognize their license, but they "honor" Ohio's license.

For more information on concealed carry in Ohio and how to obtain or renew your license, visit our CCW Information Center.

Help us fight for your rights!

Become a member of Buckeye Firearms Association and support our grassroots efforts to defend and advance YOUR RIGHTS!

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

Get weekly news and instant alerts on the latest laws and politics that affect your gun rights. Enjoy cutting-edge commentary. Be among the first to hear about gun raffles, firearms training, and special events. Read more.

We respect your privacy and your email address will be kept confidential.


Buckeye Firearms Association is a grassroots organization dedicated to defending and advancing the right of citizens to own and use firearms for all legal activities, including self-defense, hunting, competition, and recreation. Read more.